Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 12, 2007

Our Farm

We live on a small 24-acre hobby farm.  Loren’s parents bought the farm about 31 years ago and when we were married in December of 2006 we moved in and they moved out. Loren spent most of his life on the farm until he left for college.  Many years later, after he had lived lots of other places and learned much from his travels, schooling and experiences he decided that this is where he wanted to be and so here we are!  It could be said that we are a non-conventional farm.  

 rooster-may-2007.jpg

We are currently raising 4 Jersey steers and have one Jersey cow.  They are all 100% grass-fed.  In the spring, summer, and fall they graze the pasture.  Loren makes a new section for them every two days.  This is more work but we believe that God intended them to eat grass and not grain and that they are a happy and healthier animal.  I decided that we should name the animals.  Apparently that is not what a veteran farm-girl would do but this farm-girl in training thought it was necessary. 

corrine and caleb

We have Peter and Paul who will be a year old in November (I think) and Caleb and Charlie that were both born in April.  We received Corrine our mama cow the week after Easter in April from the neighbor who didn’t have time to milk her.  She is a great cow who has been through a lot in her life.  She almost died twice and unfortunately has been blessed with an extra large and low udder.  Poor girl.  But she is a fighter.  We purchased 2 calves for her when we got her and she only liked Caleb so he became her calf and we fed Charlie.  We had Corrine bred this summer and are still waiting to see if we will be expecting a new baby calf this spring.

  

peter, paul, and little charlie

chickens.jpg 

Lots of chickens reside at the farm.  We have approximately 50 laying hens and over 100 new chicks that were hatched this summer.  If a hen wants to sit on eggs then we set her with 16 eggs.  Most of our hens are great moms and I wouldn’t want to get in a fight with them.  They are great protectors of their young.  Our chickens are fed a 100% organic diet and spend their afternoons running about the farm.  A friend of my mother-in-law’s calls our chickens “happy chickens”.  We sell our eggs to family and friends in the area. 

 

mama-and-chicks.jpg

 

We have a large garden where we produce organic veggies.  The drought was a factor again this year as far as viable produce, but we did manage to grow a few things for our use.  We hope to expand the garden in the future and find a market to sell them.  We did manage to grow some flowers!  I love flowers and they have brightened up the place a bit. 

flower

 peonies.jpg

That’s the farm in a nutshell.  If you haven’t been here … come and visit!  If you have been here … don’t forget … you are always welcome back! 

Responses

  1. I absolutely love your farm photos!! Not only are you a good photographer which seems to run in the family (but didn’t come from your mother AT ALL:) but the setting is so serene and beautiful as well. I also noticed that I’m the first to respond to this entry. I’m trying to win the GRAND prize I guess. I’m the one who gets up early and checks my emails and now your blog, after I enter my food program meal counts for my daycare kids.

  2. Mom … yep you are first again and this time the “only commenter” (I am not sure that commenter is ever a word) … thank you for appreciating the pictures, I love to take them!

  3. You take exceptional, pictures, Steph…the flowers are beautiful! I love to look at them. :)

  4. I just stumbled by and enjoyed my visit. I am a farmer’s daughter and miss the life. Your farm is idyllic and I love your chickens :<). I will check back with you now and again and see how your blogging is going. Have fun!

  5. Jeri … thanks much! I sometimes think that I take too many … but you just can’t have too many pictures.

    rosieswhimsy … thanks for stopping by! I hope that you come back to visit. :)

  6. Yup, dat der farm has many good memories. Ask Loren how Martin and he farmed totally alone for about 2 or more weeks in late fall of 1982. Thirteen and fourteen year old boys doing it all with milking , feeding and hauling the “bossy Poop”. It has another more common name but such is not nice to say in print.

  7. veteran haymaker … it really is a pretty farm. Thank you for buying it 30 years ago so that we can enjoy it today! :) Loren does have memories of when they did the milking after your accident. You should write that story out and we should have Loren write some memories and post it! That would be an interesting read!

  8. I have so enjoyed your blog. SO much so I made one of my own. I love your stories and pictures. Keep up the good work!
    Dawn

  9. LOVED the pictures of the farm, they are all great! We live in a small town on 20 acres, had almost 100 chickens (including turkeys, goslings, guineas, etc.) and once the critters found out how to break into the barn where we kept them there was nothing we could do to keep them away!! That was about 4 years ago. All we have left is a single guinea, we call her “the survivor”, and she IS a tough one too! Now she is free to hide and shelter where she wants. I surely miss them all! Especially those delicious eggs! Seeing the pictures of your chickens brought warm memories! and I thank you for that!. Now, about Veteran Haymaker, where is his story? and also Lorens? I’m very curious now to learn more! I love country living and would never change that!!!
    Much Love and Light
    Sandi


Leave a Reply

Categories

