Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 13, 2007

Granola

Have you ever made Granola? … Well, I did today and I gotta say that it is really yummy and really easy. 

All I did was take 6 cups of oatmeal, and added some chopped nuts (I had almonds, pecans, and walnuts on hand).  I warmed up 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/2 cup honey with a teaspoon of salt in a sauce pan and poured it over the oatmeal and nuts.  I mixed it up so it was coated well and put it on a couple cookie sheets.  It baked for about 15 minues in a 350 degree oven.  The recipe that I was given called for 3/4 cup honey but less worked just fine for us.  I was advised to stir the mixture every 5 minutes while it was cooking.  I gotta say … it is pretty tasty and sooo much better for you then the commercial stuff.  You could add dried fruit as well … but it is suggested to add that after it is cooked.  There is lots of options with granola so if you like it and you have a few minutes, I would suggest that you try it.  :)

granola

Responses

  1. I’m curious if you know how well homemade granola “keeps.” As in, how long, and at what temp does it need to be stored?

    This summer, I made a trail mix, where I’d throw in raw nuts, granola, dried fruit, and the obligatory M&M’s for the kids. I dragged that stuff everywhere-baseball games, beach, and playground. I just kept throwing more stuff in the container if it got low.

    I’d like to do granola, but I’m wondering if it would stand up to 90 degrees at the beach. What do you think?

    Of course, I’ve got this whole winter ahead of me to try it out before I need to worry about that . . .sigh.

  2. I might try this. I looks like you used the old-fashioned oats. What are the cooking instructions? I was thinking you could just follow the directions on the oatmeal box but not add salt to the water. Maybe. ?

  3. Diane … I guess I don’t know “for sure” how long it would keep. Loren thought that if it were in a sealed container then like a week or so maybe? … he didn’t really know either. Ha. If you are going to use it for a snack food I would suggest a little more honey so that it clumps together more, that and maybe mixing it less. Mine is like a cereal … pretty loose oatmeal. :) I hope that you try it and it works out for you.

    Mom … I used whatever oats we have around here. Ha. I don’t know how you would cook it … I just eat it cold with milk, yum … it is sooo good. I suppose that you could just warm it up like you would with regular cooked oatmeal. :)

  4. Mom,

    Our experience with uncooked rolled oats is they need to be soaked overnight in order to be digestible.

    I will see if Julie can put up a recipe for Musli on >a href=”http://outeast.wordpress.com/”>her blog. As I recall, we soak oats in warm water with a little bit of yogurt and the enzymes in the yogurt break down the phytic acid in the oats.

    Now that fall is in the wind, hot oatmeal is an easier sell in the morning. :)

  5. oops: her blog.

  6. Thanks, Dave. Now I’m more confused than ever! I will await further instruction from someone who knows their oats:)

  7. Were was this “tasty” granola when i was there eh? hiding it i see -.-

  8. Mom … Loren had a really long explanation about the oats that I can not even begin to explain on this! Ha. But in a nutshell, since the oatmeal is already cooked because it is baked, soaking it would help some, but he didn’t think that you needed to worry about it. He can give you the long story on Sunday if you would like. :)

    Devan … yeah so the “tasty” granola hadn’t quite arrived at the farm yet when you were here. Sorry! Man you crack me up. Thanks for making me laugh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

