Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 16, 2007

Jeri’s Good Bars

jeris-good-bars2.jpg 

Yum …

Jeri’s Good Bars

Mix together 2 cups four, ½ teaspoon salt, ½ teaspoon baking soda, 1 cup soft butter, 1 cup brown sugar, and 1 ½ cups of oatmeal.  Reserve 2 cups and pat the rest into a 9×13″ pan.  Bake 10 minutes in a 350-degree oven.

Melt 2 cups chocolate chips, 2 tablespoons of butter, ½ teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 can of sweetened condensed milk. 

Add chocolate to baked oatmeal layer, top with reserved oatmeal topping and bake for another 15 minutes. 

Delicious!  I made these bars this afternoon for our neighbor’s birthday.  Happy Birthday Sunday!  (yep … that is really her name!)  :)

We were raised with our Aunt Jeri’s Good Bars and I had made some when my nephew Devan was with us for a week.  We had run out of sweets and there were a couple more days of his visit and so looking though my recipe book I decided that Jeri’s Good Bars would do the trick … plus I had all the ingredients on hand which doesn’t always happen.   After we made the bars we were heading over to Sunday’s to get milk and remembered that we had a container of hers from when she generously sent some goat cheese home with us.  Loren’s family has a tradition of returning a container to someone with something in it so some of the bars made it into the container and Sunday has been hooked on the delicious bars ever since.   Her birthday seemed like a good time to make them for her. 

As kids we always thought that Jeri created the recipe because the top of the recipe card said “Jeri’s Good Bars” and I remember when brother Matthew saw a similar recipe on the back of a bag of chocolate chips and we were so mad that they had stolen Jeri’s recipe and were making money off of it!  Ha.  Little did we know that Jeri didn’t make it up, but she had just given the recipe to mom and that was the name that mom put on the recipe card.  But we still call them Jeri’s Good Bars … I imagine that we always will.  Even though I know the story of the recipe, I still believe she made the recipe up and that she is the recipe genius I always thought that she was.      

Our Aunt Jeri was a pretty special aunt… still is.  I was thinking about her today as I was making her bars … I usually do.  This day, thoughts about all that I learned from her came to mind.  My most fond memories are those of our days quilting and the night that she taught me how to decorate cakes.  Because there was not a special occasion to make a cake for, we ended up with a “happy spring” cake.  I spent lots of evenings learning from her.  I would just call her up and say “will you teach me how to …” and she would say “sure! come on over” and I would drive the half an hour to visit her at the farm.  At the time I had no idea that I would end up on a farm of course but I am thankful that I had their example of farm life.  She is no longer on the farm and lives in another state now so I can’t visit like I did, or call her and ask her to teach me something that she does so well.  But I cherish my memories at the farm with her, and I am thankful for her generosity, her gift of time and her encouragement to learn new thing.  Thanks Jeri.    

Responses

  1. Awww Steph, trying to make me cry this morning? We did have good times and I enjoyed every minute passing my limited knowledge about the little things I knew how to do on to you. As far as the “good bar” recipe, it was actually a hybrid. I took the crust from a recipe for “Caramel Sauce Bars” and the middle from a recipe for “Chocolate Revel Bars” so you can still believe it was my genius that developed the recipe! heh My kids still love the bars, in fact the other day Catherine called for the recipe, and after making them said “I fogot how GOOD they are!” Every Christmas I do a recipe ‘book’ for a one of my kids, with family recipes and anecdotes…this year it’s Jacob’s turn. I started with Carrie, Rachel was last year. I figure even if they aren’t interested in them now, they might be some day. I include recipes I made as they grew up, and recipes that we all remember from family gatherings…like Diane’s baked beans, and Ruth’s butterhorn rolls. This year I’ll be half done, unless I get ambitious and just do the rest of the 4 this year! Probably won’t happen, though.
    I am sure you will enjoy your parent’s anniversary festival today. They are lucky to have each other and their children. I’ll be with you in spirit!
    Oh…and you can take the girl off the farm, but you can never take the farm out of the girl! ;) And really, 1,300 miles isn’t so far that you can’t take a quick trip to learn something, is it??? haaa

  2. Reading your post yesterday AM about Jeri caused some wetness here as well. My baby sister will always be that to me, I guess:) I make her bars every once in awhile, too and then your dad and I eat WAY too many so sometimes I try to give at least half away so I live a few weeks longer maybe. Thanks for reminding me how special your aunt is to you! I thought of the times we would go up and visit her and laugh most of the time we were there:)

  3. Hi Jeri … I hadn’t intended to try to make you cry. But I just have such great memories of the farm and you and your family is all. Good stuff! :) I am glad to know that you really are the recipe genius … I knew I was right all along. Ha. I have lots of recipes that start with “jeri’s …” in my recipe book. Being on the farm and away from a convenient store helps with creativity. Thanks for your comment and of course for being such a great aunt. Oh did I already mention that? :)

    Mom … I remember going up with you as well. I was going to add that but it was getting a little long so you didn’t make the final cut. Ha.

  4. […] (I did not use this part of the recipe … I took the 1/2 of the crust recipe from Jeri’s Good Bars  and it turned out really yummy and I could pronounce all the […]

  5. […] Aunt Jeri … you know the one who makes those fantastic bar recipes up? … well, she sent me some […]

  6. I didn’t discover the world of blogging until August ’07, and it took me another couple of months to find your blog, Stephanie, so I only just now noticed this post. Your aunt Jeri sure sounds like a wonderful lady, a marvelous aunt, and a brilliant bar-maker! I am totally going to try this recipe….maybe next week (Lent is almost over—yay!).

    Thanks for sharing the recipe and about your awesome aunt!


Leave a Reply

Categories

