Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 29, 2007

My Apologies

My apologies for this past week of blogging. Here are my excuses … incase you think that I should explain. 

Excuse #1 … It was a very busy week!  I was off the farm a lot … and that isn’t normal for me these days. Before life on the farm I was rarely home more then one night a week, but since I have been here it is rare if I am gone much.  I was off the farm all day Monday and Tuesday, in addition to each evening of the rest of the week. 

Excuse #2 … I heard some criticism about the blog and I know that it seems ridiculous that I would even let that effect me, but honestly it did … a little.  I don’t like criticism.  One would think that someone my age would have learned to deal with that better but apparently not!  I wouldn’t say that it affected me to the point of tears (that would be pathetic) but it did make me question if writing something was going to be received well.  Like I said, it was ridiculous and I am over it but I just had a couple days where I questioned my ability to write what people would like to read. 

Excuse #3 … this is the big one.  Dial-up is a pain!   One of my big adjustments to farm life aside from the animals, the wood heat, the lack of air-conditioning, cooking from the ground up, and being a new wife is losing my high-speed internet.   Sad huh?  But it’s true.  I had adjusted pretty well I thought, I learned that I didn’t need to check for e.mail messages every 5 minutes, and that I couldn’t just check something on-line when the mood struck.   The “adjusted pretty well” moments went away when I decided to start the blog.  The amount of time that I have to wait to post anything is terrible.  Since the majority of the world has something faster, websites are created to “wow” their visitors with lots of fun graphics and music, and flashing lights.  Though that is all fine and good, when you have dial-up that takes FOREVER … well not forever, but it is a very long time!  We have the option of dsl or high-speed internet, but it is costly (which we could afford, but choose not to), and more importantly goes against what we strive for here with a simple life.  So I muddle through with dial-up.  We have a number of hours per month and though we have rarely used even half of them, when the blog started the hours crept up.  We are down to minutes left for this month.  The decision has been made however, to add to our dial-up hours.  It will still be slow but I won’t have to be quite so concerned with how long it takes.   Monday starts a new month too … so I have lots of time to write and post.  

So … Monday … I promise that I will come up with something brilliant to post on Monday.  Wow … brilliant is a big word and a big commitment; so let’s just say that there will be a new post of Monday … you will have to decide for yourself if it is brilliant.  I wouldn’t hold my breath on that though if I were you.

Responses

  1. I wonder if living a simple life could include high speed internet…it would certainly be simpler and less frustrating than dial up:) And you would save all those minutes to use canning apples and feeding chickens!

  2. Mom … I would agree that there is certainly enough evidence to prove high speed internet would be better. :) But I will muddle through … it isn’t so bad, most days.

  3. Steph, I’m not sure of the origin or the reason for the criticism, but I for one think you do a wonderful job expressing yourself and maintaining a blog. I applaud you and am thoroughly enjoying perusing it as I get the chance! Don’t apologize for being who you are and doing what you want to do. There is always the option for people to NOT read it…but they’d sure be missing out. :)

  4. Thanks. :)

  5. I have to agree with Aunt Jeri. I’m a farm girl too and I am loving seeing farm life through your fresh eyes. I just came to this lifestyle a few years ago myself and I can so remember learning all that you’re learning now and feeling some of the same thrills and fears. Don’t give up blogging…you ARE very good at it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

