Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | October 3, 2007

MSG … none for me please

I have started to make my own spice mixes.  Seems near impossible to find taco seasoning, spaghetti seasoning, or the like without MSG.  This shouldn’t be a huge surprise since the majority of processed foods now include the stuff.  I haven’t read as much on MSG as my husband, but what I do know isn’t good and so I steer clear if possible. 

Tonight I made tacos for the youth at church.  In an attempt to make them healthier and to make them so that I will eat them, I did some research on taco seasonings.   This one I found at http://www.allrecipes.com and there were over 440 reviews from this particular recipe for taco seasoning and almost every review gave a perfect score.  I figured that those were pretty good stats so I gave it a try. 

Here is the recipe incase you want to try it.  I would highly recommend it. 

taco-spice.JPG

Taco Seasoning Mix   

  • 1    tablespoon chili powder
  • ¼   teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼   teaspoon onion powder
  • ¼   teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (or 1/8 teaspoon cyan pepper)
  • ¼   teaspoon dried oregano
  • ½   teaspoon paprika
  • 1 ½  teaspoons ground cumin
  • ½   teaspoon sea salt
  • 1    teaspoon black pepper 

In a small bowl, mix together chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes (or cyan), oregano, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper. Store in an airtight container.  

Use as little or as much as you prefer … typically a package of taco seasoning mix contains 2 ½ Tablespoons. 

Looked like most reviews also included that they added about ½ cup of water to a pound of meat with the seasoning.  So I did that as well and it was a good amount … but could be more or less depending on how you like your taco meat.  It was also a bit spicy for me, but the kids gobbled it up and there was not one complaint so apparently I am just a wimp when it comes to spice.  I used the cyan pepper so for me I would use just a bit less.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a good mix, I can’t handle too much spice, either. It’s the Midwest blandness perhaps. :) Is that picture one you took of it? If so I’m assuming you increased the recipe.

  2. As I recall, you never have liked much spice, or color, or texture:) I just thought it was the Norweigen in you. I’m glad you’re trying new things! I was wondering how much you increased the recipe too. Unless you were using a very small container.

  3. Hi :) Yep I increased the recipe … you guys are so smart! I needed enough for 7 pounds of hamburger. Amazing how much those kids will eat … I am sure that I don’t need to remind either one of you that however. :) So that was the recipe times 7!

  4. Thanks for giving this recipe! I’m going to try it out on Paul the next time Lisa and him come for a visit. Paul’s very favorite food is tacos and he constantly raved to Lisa about “mom’s great tacos” and how mom makes the best tacos in the world and he always requests them when he comes. Feeling very embarrassed by his praise, I asked him to please quit saying how wonderful my tacos are. Why? Because I make them from whatever taco dinner mix is the cheapest the day I go to the store. Nothing special about my tacos! I told him that he, too, could make those wonderful tacos. haha

  5. Aunt Susan … Thanks for commenting! :) I am glad to hear from you. I hope that you decide to make the taco mix cause it is really yummy. When Paul loves it you can even take credit for the praise since you went to all the work to mix up the spices. Bonus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

