Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | October 7, 2007

Pourable Pie Crust

pourable-crust-pie.JPG 

After my failure with Mom’s pie last week I still had a big pile of apples that I needed to do something with.  I had a conversation with a woman at church on Wednesday about pies and pie crusts and she shared that her mother had come across a pourable pie crust that was really good.  In desperation I called her for the recipe. 

Here it is …

Melt 3/4 cup of butter and add 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar, and 1 beated egg. 

That’s it!  Pretty simple.  When all combined just pour over your pie ingredients and bake for 40-50 minutes @ 350 degrees.  

Since I had enough apples for 2 pies and only enough crust ingredients for 1!  Even though that one might think it would be a crazy idea to experiement, I had no choice.   I just split the recipe in half and made 2 pies.  I figured that if was a thin crust it would be ok, especially since Mom was lucky to be getting a pie in the first place.  :) 

But it turned our good … at least that is what I heard!  I don’t know that I would use the entire recipe for only one pie because it was pretty full as it was.  I suppose that you would need to use a smaller amount of filling … I tend to put a lot of fruit in my fruit pies.  

Try it and let me know how it turns out for you!  :) 

Responses

  1. This looks delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m not sure I’ll ever get the hang of a nice flaky crust.

  2. I, also, am pie-making impaired, and have once again signed up to bring two pies to the fall dinner, which is next weekend. Last year, it had me nearly in tears.

    So, pie-challenged as I am, I have to ask: Is this the bottom crust that you pour over the whole thing? And it just sinks to the bottom (like a lot of upside-down cakes do)? Or is this for the top crust? Or both? I’m definitely going to try it.

    PS: I’ve heard the trick to flaky crust is not over-mixing or over-rolling. But, that’s easier said than done!

  3. Sounds yummy. Schmecht gut! Hope you have sample I can try some time.

  4. Diane, the crust actually covered the top and some went down the sides. I presume if she had used the whole recipe on one pie it would have sunk to the bottom and completed the process. I’ll try it tomorrow because I have a can of cherry pie filling I can experiment with and I’ll get back to this blog to report:)

  5. Thanks!!!

  6. Diane, I made the recipe and put it on the bottom of the pan, spreading it up the sides a little and it baked really nice in 40 minutes. It didn’t cover the top, but had a nice edge about 2″ from the edges and the cherries looked really pretty in the middle. Maybe if you put half on the bottom and half on the top you’d get a full crust! I think it tastes kind of like a strudel, much better than regular crust. But then I like sweets:)

  7. Thanks for the tips! I’m going to try it for the dinner. Wish me luck!

  8. So I think that everyone got their questions answered here. :) Thanks mom for testing it out. The crust isn’t actually very pourable … even though it is called that, it is more like “spoon-able”. I am glad that it worked out.

    veteran haymaker … I will try to send a pie with Bev for you on Thursday so you can have some sweets when she is gone over the weekend. :)

  9. Steph, did you google “pourable pie crust recipe” and see your blog come up as #1? I hope Diane’s pies turn out well and I’m certain the veteran haymaker is going to be spoiled by his daughter in law. Very thoughtful.

  10. Just in case anyone really cares, I made a triple-berry pie yesterday with this crust. I sort of spooned it into the bottom and pressed it up the sides, and then put little blobs on top. It turned out great! Very yummy.

  11. Good for you! It takes a little working with it to get the proportions on top and bottom right, but it sounds like you found the solution.

  12. hooray! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

