Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | October 15, 2007

Little Nuggets of Joy

We had my family over on Sunday.  It was a great day and nice to have a house full on a cool fall day.  We served soups, bread, apple bars, and pumpkin bars.  I realized that I didn’t take any pictures of the food and by the time I realized, it was mostly put away or consumed.  I mentioned it to Loren and he said “there are two slices of bread left, will that work?”.  I thanked him for his help but decided that I will not post yummy pictures of the food.

I do however have some pictures of the pumpkin bars … sorta.  They are much more fun to look at with this model then they would have been organized on a plate. 

Don’t you think?

nuggetsofjoy31.JPG

They were Yummy and simple!

nuggetsofjoy5.JPG

Bars

2 cups pumpkin  …  2 cups sugar  …  4 eggs  …  ¾ cups butter (1 ½ sticks)  …  2 cups flour  …  2 teaspoons baking powder  …  1 teaspoon baking soda  …  ½ teaspoon cinnamon

Beat together butter and sugar.   Add pumpkin and eggs until smooth.  Add flour, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon.  Pour into a greased 10×15″ pan.  Bake at 325 degrees for 25 minutes.

Frosting …

3 ½ cups powdered sugar  …  ½ cup butter (1 stick)  …  8 oz. package cream cheese  …  ½ teaspoon vanilla

When I cut them I wasn’t really paying much attention since my family was starting to arrive and someone mentioned that they were cut really small … which they were!   I quickly made up an excuse as to the size and said “oh yeah they are small … that is because they are called little nuggets of joy!”.  That went over really well and so from now on I suppose that this recipe for pumpkin bars will be called Little Nuggets of Joy Pumpkin Bars. 

This little taste tester preferred the frosting to the bars … you will notice his pile of “I am done with those ones but I need more” when the frosting was gone.   He was just way too cute.

nuggetsofjoy1.JPG

Try ‘em … I am sure that you will like ‘em! 

nuggetsofjoy4.JPG

Responses

  1. It’s hard to look at the pumpkin bars when the model is so captivating……those eyelashes! Why do boys get those long luxurious ones? Everything was really good yesterday, but the pumpkin bars and the fresh whole wheat bread was perfect….I wish I had some today:) Instead I made some more of your granola which I LOVE and some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies with walnuts in them. I used whole wheat flour so they must be better for me, right? No calories.

  2. Yep … it is hard to remember to notice the bars. Ha. I put that picture in of the eyelashes because they are so stinkin’ long! A beautiful boy that is for sure. I am making granola today too … and even though your whole wheat flour won’t make calories disapear you can at least rest assured that your body is getting more nutrtition than if you used the white. :)

  3. He is the most beautiful boy! I too wanted some bars today, guess I should have eaten more when I had the chance. BRAVO Poofer!

  4. I’m gonna have to try that recipe. Maybe I will start using it when I have a family of my own. Check out how I earn money online
    scott47.wordpress.com

  5. Was Scott spamming or what?? Here’s the message I got when I checked out his money making deal:
    This blog has been archived or suspended for a violation of our Terms of Service.
    tsk tsk…


Leave a Reply

Categories

