Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | October 29, 2007

A “real” farm.

We have a real farm. I show you lots of pictures of the beauty and fun parts of living on a simple farm, but there are moments when the farm is simply just the farm, free of great photo opportunities and free of fun. This past Sunday evening was one of those moments when we boxed up chickens for butchering.

As Loren and I were in the chicken coop which we had boarded up so that the chickens would be less frantic as they were picked up and placed into a cardboard box, I said “too bad I can’t blog about this”. Loren said “why not?” and I said “because this isn’t much fun and I don’t think that people want to read about the fact that we are boxing chickens to kill then” … his response was “well, this is real farm life, this is what happens on a real farm.” I admitted that he was right but I still didn’t think that I would blog about it … but here I am.

The process has been on my mind and as I think about it, it isn’t a bad thing. Even though it seemed a little sad that we were taking these chickens from thier perfect and simple life and placing them into a cardboard box where they will become chicken soup, the fact that they had a good life prior to being chicken soup is something that we are proud of. It’s a fact of life that we raise food to eat. We don’t have the animals to look at or to entertain us, they are raised to nourish and feed us. We enjoy the process of raising them, even with the frustration that they can often bring! I am extremely blessed to be married to a man that has always cared very much for his animals and loves to learn more about his passion and to share that with me and others. He has helped to deepen my understanding of what we are trying to accomplish on our little farm.

We believe in creating whole and healthy food, food that will nourish and strengthen us and our families. We believe in supporting local farmers and local businesses, even if the bottom dollar is a bit higher. Sounds nice right? … it is nice, but it isn’t always easy. It can be difficult to find people that think like we do, difficult to find the supplies that we need, and difficult to convince people to think differently about what they eat and where it may be coming from. Not long ago, small family farms flourished in communities and today it is hard to find one if you need one. Our goal is to try to create a little bit of what was once a normal way of life, to create food for our family with our own hands and on our land and to share our surplus with others. Along with the difficulties of going against the grain so to speak also comes great joy in doing what we believe is right, in not worrying about what other people think, and in having the opportunity to share healthy food with others. The good of living the simple life with the goals we have set is much greater then the few difficulties.

I have a post started about the actual process of boxing the chickens that has some humor and fun aspects in it that I will share but for some reason, I felt inclined to share these thoughts with you.

Thanks for reading about our real farm … real in it’s beauty, in it’s joy and trials, and of course our moments of fun.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re blogging about this. It’s important to pass on our knowledge of farming, including how healthy food is raised and processed. Real farming isn’t always fun or pretty but it’s real and we’re blessed to live such wholesome and fulfilling lives.

    Robin

  2. Beautifully written, Stephanie! Humor is wonderful and entertaining and has it place, but truth and values and a life lived honestly and well is what brings you peace and it’s good to share this as well! We support you and enjoy the fruit of your labors and are grateful. Thanks for sharing more than just the fun.

  3. Show us your weasel!

    Oh, wait – you already did that. :)

    Have I told you how proud I am of you and Loren? Well I am. It takes great courage to follow your heart and live a life that others may judge as simple, or backward, or whatever! Truth is, most people are looking for what you have and don’t even know it. The challenge is always “what will I have to give up?” and for many the lack of vision to see past the short term loss locks them up to never change.

    So write about life and death and choices and faith and community. People are hungry for more than just good food, not that feeding them is any less divine, but the more you feed them physically the more they will hunger spiritually.

    Thanks for allowing us to get to know you and Loren as we follow our heart out here. From one weird family to another – go for it! :)

    BTW: we are heading back over to Polyface this weekend for some turkey! I will take some pictures for you guys.

  4. I have just recently found your blog via Rosie at Rosie’s Whimsy. I can really relate to this post today and have enjoyed what I have read about your life this far. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I grew up on a dairy farm in south central PA. I was always amazed at how people moved into our rural neighborhood to get away from the town and promptly began to complain about the smells of the farm….you know, spreading manure on the fields…. Thank you for choosing to tell it the way it is…..perhaps someone will read you blog and realize where their food comes from and the value of the work it takes to get it to their tables.

    I still like to see your pretty pictures, too…. LOL

  6. Beautifully written.

  7. I am wondering if I missed when you showed the weasel? I read the posting when you described it, but didn’t show it. LOL

    So did you box the chickens up and the butcher is doing the rest? I still remember crying as the chickens with their heads cut off jumped around. It isn’t really fun to see. Both kids have vaguely asked “where does this chicken come from”? and we tell them from a farm. I’m not sure if they yet grasp the concept that it was a live chicken and it was killed for food.

    Bravo on raising healthy food for yourselves and all of us that end up benefiting from it. :)

  8. Ahhhhh … Thanks everyone! You are awesome. Thanks for the support and for reading my many words. :)

  9. […] Hunting or Chicken Hunting? Another (unexpected) example of our “real farm” […]

  10. Reading your words is no burden at all. Good job on telling it like it is!

  11. Yep, and I thank you too. Most of the people I know are back in the city and they and their children have no idea what life is really like out here in the country on a ranch or a farm. There is lots of work but it is tempered by lots of fun. And when things happen it is real, nothing artificial, and healthy for everyone concerned.


Leave a Reply

Categories

