Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | November 5, 2007

Yummy Cookies

It turns out that I am a bit tired of writing about cows and dead chickens so today you get a recipe!  And of course this fabulous cookie picture. 

cookies1.jpg

Last week I noticed a recipe on the side of out baking powder and I thought it sounded good so I gave it a try and they were delicious and pretty simple!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

½ cup shortening (I used half butter and half lard)

½ cup peanut butter

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup white sugar

1 egg (beaten)

¼ cup milk

1 cup oatmeal

1 ¾ cup flour

2 ½ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

I will spare you all the details of the order to mix them in and etc.  I hate that part of a recipe.  If you don’t know that you should cream your butter and sugars first then let me know and I can walk you through it.  Ha.  

The recipe said that it would make 3 doz. cookies but I only got about 2 dozen. 

Oven should be at 375 degrees.  Drop by tablespoons and bake for 12-15 minutes. .

I added nuts and chocolate chips because a cookie without chocolate seems so silly! 

Try ‘em … I bet you will like ‘em.  :) 

Responses

  1. They do sound good! Too bad I already baked oatmeal butterscotch chip cookies this morning. I also baked a rhubarb custard pie. Must be on a roll….literally after I eat both of them! :) Hope you have a lovely fall-almost-winter day. We had a few flakes floating around today.

  2. Good looking cookies, Steph!
    Mary–Flakes of snow or flakes of oatmeal or were there just some flaky people on the street? It surely can’t be snow time already! My roses, vincas and morning glories are still blooming. :) Luke had to mow the lawn Saturday. I did notice the leaves are starting to turn here.

  3. Jeri, snow of course! It didn’t last long, but it will be here soon I’m sure. This was the latest date in 9 years for our first snow flurries. How quickly we forget when we live in the tropics. :)

  4. Well, when you mention cookies in the same sentence as Yummy I snap to attention. I’ll definitely try them! Thanks for the recipe.

    Mary and Jeri…as far as the snow goes, it reminded me of what Michelle said when she got home from school that day. She said, “Mom, I made a snow mountain today at recess with my friend!!” Me, “A snow mountain? You must have gotten more snow than we did here if you could make a mountain!” Her, “Mom, it was only the size of a pea! We got snow from the cracks!” So Jeri, you’re really not missing much yet! haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

