Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | December 23, 2007

all cookied out …

cookies3.jpg

Today I baked … and baked and baked.  I should have rested since it is Sunday but I thought that it would be fun to bake a Sunday away.  That was a silly thought!  Ha.  It wasn’t too bad but I am tired and I am glad that I am pretty much done.   There are 5 cookie trays on my table yet to be filled, but there are three varieties of cookies cooling which is great. 

 First I made Pecan Tassies … (who comes up with these names?)

cookies4.jpg

They are a time consuming cookie … or mini-pie … or tart … or whatever.  But boy are they yummy. 

cookies5.jpg

Pecan Tassie Recipe (incase you have some extra time and mini muffin tins!)

Crust –  1/2 cup butter, 3 oz. cream cheese, 1 cup flour

Filling – 1 slightly beaten egg, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/4 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Form crust into balls and pat into pans, spoon in filling, bake at 350 degrees for about 15 -20 minutes. 

They are delicious. 

 Next I made Peanut Butter Blossoms …

cookies1.jpg

I am not crazy about the recipe because they tell you to flatten them and I don’t think that they look right … I might try them again but I won’t flatten them … but they taste good.  I had a hard time finding the recipe so incase you were looking for it …

Peanut Butter Blossoms Recipe

1 egg, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup butter, 2 tablespoons milk, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 3/4 cup flour, 1 teaspoon soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt. 

Mix together ingredients, roll into balls.  Bake for 10 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  Place chocolate star in middle of cookie. 

Lastly I made Mexican Wedding Cakes.  Most people know them as Russian Tea Cakes but around our house we called them Mexican Wedding Cakes.  They have always been my favorite Christmas cookie.  Yum.  Super simple.

cookies2.jpg

Mexican Wedding Cakes

1 cup butter, dash of salt, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 2 cups flour, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Mix and roll into balls – Bake in 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  When still warm, roll on powdered sugar.

So I am done for now … though I need to do one more batch to round out the trays but I think that I will wait until tomorrow when I am less “cookied out”. 

 

Responses

  1. Looks like you did a great job! I only made one batch of cookies today….some Mexican Wedding Cakes that have no nuts because Matthew will like them better. I also read a book, washed a few dishes, did a couple small loads of laundry, but nothing like a whole day of baking!! We got a couple inches of snow and it’s been blowing around all day, so I’ll shovel it tomorrow if it didn’t blow to the neighbor’s house. I’m hoping. :)

  2. Poofer, Girl, you have GOT to take a break from all this baking and candy-making and such. You must be so exhausted! I made two kinds of cookies yesterday, and it was quite a big job….I don’t know how you do it!

    Thanks for the recipes! My husband’s grandma always made pecan tassies, and he would love to have them again sometime but we didn’t have a recipe. I remember those peanut butter blossoms from church get-togethers. And the Mexican Wedding Cakes! We always called them that too. It must be a Minnesota thing.

    Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

