Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | February 25, 2008

Birthday Cheesecake

cc3.jpg

Yum, Birthday Cheesecake!

This past weekend we celebrated the family February and March birthdays … which includes 5 people.  My portion of the meal was to bring the cake.  For something a little different I thought it would be fun to bring a cheesecake.  I have made this recipe once or twice before and it turned out fantastic.  It might seem like a daunting task to make and bake a homemade cheesecake from scratch but really, it is so worth it and not really that tough.  So forget about that no-bake cheesecake “stuff” and give this recipe a try. 

Crust: (I did not use this part of the recipe … I took the 1/2 of the crust recipe from Jeri’s Good Bars  and it turned out really yummy and I could pronounce all the ingredients! 

cc1.jpg

The crust on the recipe that I received:

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon melted butter

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

* Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Blend ingredients and pat in the bottom and partly up sides of pan.  Bake 10 minutes.

cc5.jpg

Filling:

2 1/2 pounds cream cheese

1 3/4 cup sugar

3 tablespoons flour

1 teaspoon lemon juice

5 eggs & 2 egg yokes

1/4 cup cream

* After your crust is out turn over to 475 degrees. 

cc4.jpg

*  Beat cream cheese until fluffy.  Add sugar and flour & beat until smooth.  Add lemon juice.  Add eggs and yolks one at a time and blend well.  Stir in cream until mixed. 

* Pour into crust.

cc6.jpg

* Bake 15 minutes.

* Turn oven down to 200 degrees and bake for one hour.

* Turn oven “off” and let sit in the oven for one hour.

* Remove from oven and let sit in a cooling rack intil room temp.

cc7.jpg

* Refrigerate.

Ta-Da!  Ok, I know that you are thinking “oh my gosh, that seems hard and long and drawn out, she is crazy to think I will ever try this.”  Alright, I get that, but you should at least try it once. 

The deal about the pan is that I have no idea what size pan would work best since I use a spring form pan.  I would try the 9 x 13 pan and see how that goes. 

The cheesecake will puff up a lot while it bakes that first 15 minutes.  Then as it slowly cooks and cools it comes back down so if you look in the oven and it looks as though it will over flow I don’t believe that it will.  If it does, then sorry about the poor advice!  The crust on the top forms right away and I think that it keeps it under control. 

Try it … I promise that you will love me forever once you do! 

cc8.jpg

 

Responses

  1. I can definitely vouch for the fact that this was yummy!! Thanks for making it for our birthdays. We had the best food with Teresa’s lasagna (2 varieties) and her little cat and dog cupcakes too.
    :)

  2. How did you change the crust? It looks like you added oats? Any thing else??

  3. Ladonna … I took the recipe from the link above “jeri’s goodbars” and did half of the crust portion of the recipe. Turned out great.


Leave a Reply

Categories

