Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | April 17, 2008

Is that water I see?

Yes, yes it is!  Water is flowing from my pipes.  Whoo-hoo!  And even though I only have cold water, and only in the kitchen sink and not the shower … it is like winning the lottery around here.  Turns out that 2 months without water isn’t unbearable but it sure isn’t anything that I would choose to go without.  And even though I am still drain-less for the most part … we use it very sparingly right now, having water is a great improvement. 

Whew … 2 months people … 2 months without water in the pipes.  That is something.  There should be some sort of reward for that don’t you think?  Ha.  I know that people lived for years and years without running water so I am not claiming that I am really that great, but when you are spoiled like the majority of us, 2 months is a long time. 

I think that I might just spend all day running the faucet … but of course I would have to bring it outside and not run it down the drain … that sounds like work … maybe just one bucket full!  :) 

 

Responses

  1. HOORAY !! I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU. :)

  2. I’m awarding you with the Farmwife of the Year Award!!! lol I’m so happy this saga is coming to it’s end, for you!

    My grandmother raised 10 kids in a two bedroom house with no running water. She spent lots of time carrying water from the windmill, out in the farmyard, so she could cook, wash dishes in dishpans on the table and fill the ringer washer every two weeks. On Sundays, she would cook fried chicken dinner for 30-50 family members. She was amazing. She never stressed out over it either!

  3. All I can say is….

  4. Yay for you, Poofer! How spoiled am I that I was feeling a bit sorry for myself for having to go without (only) hot water for a couple of days while we had a leaky pipe in our slab foundation fixed?! For putting up with all you’ve had to these past couple of months, you’re my role model in plumbing patience!

  5. I can totally sympathize with you. We were without power for 3 weeks. I was so sick of boiling water on the wood cookstove or camp stove for dishes. The nights were totally quiet. I mean they are quiet out here anyway but the kids usually have on a radio or tv during the night.. I think what I hated the most is begging showers from neighbors and friends. Hope you get hot water soon.. When I turned on the faucet yesterday and had hot water I almost cried!


Leave a Reply

Categories

