Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 23, 2008

Hay ’08 … part two

Just when you thought that you have read all you needed to know about Hay in 2008, here I am again with more words.  But I thought that you would like to know that we bailed more hay today … and this time I got a few pictures.  I don’t have any of the actual process cause I am still trying to figure out how to do that while bales of hay are shooting out from the baler. 

So today we bailed 143 bales of hay … at least that was my count.  This time around though Veteran Haymaker was at the tractor wheel.  We did a pretty good job I think, going up and down the long rows of dried grass.  Again it was a beautiful day. 

 

Here is Veteran Haymaker bringing in the majority of the bales.  Here there are 110 stacked ever so carefully. 

Can you believe that I am responsible for that trailer of hay?  Well, not entirely since someone needs to drive the tractor and Leo stopped and helped me stack some of them to 5 layers high, but most of that was all me.  Just another day on the farm earning my keep.  :) 

Responses

  1. I’ll say you earned your keep. You threw those chunks almost like I used to do.

  2. Who are you and what have you done with my sister.

    Seriously, baling hay is the absolute last thing I would ever imagine you doing.

    Apparently, I don’t have a very vivid imagination.

    Good work sister!

  3. Nice work…I love the wagon full of hay stacked so neatly, and the one of your pink gloves…very artistic. :) You are a woman of many talents! And a great farm wife, obviously. I’m not sure I could lift a bale of hay, let alone toss it up onto the pile of bales. I know I would fall off the trailer in the process, especially if the ride was bumpy. Who needs to go to the fair when you can get a ride like that?


Leave a Reply

Categories

