Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 23, 2008

Hay ’08

We bailed the first cutting of hay this afternoon … Sunday.  We never ever ever work on a Sunday.  Loren is a stickler on the whole “keeping Holy the Sabbath” and never works in excess on a Sunday.  This is something that I really appreciate about him so I am not complaining that we don’t usually work on a Sunday … heaven knows that I will never complain about “not” working!  

Today was the first Sunday in the last 3 years that I have known Loren to work more then just feeding animals.  Generally on a Sunday we spend the day just hanging out together if we aren’t traveling to see family.  There could be an argument made that we were “technically” hanging out together since we were out bailing hay together.  But, I am not sure that me standing on a hay rack and Loren riding the tractor in front of me with a big red baler in between us really qualifies.   It was ok though and really, the old saying “make hay when the sun shines” rings true when your in the middle of living the simple life.

You may recall my “hay story” from last fall.  All I gotta say is that it’s amazing how fast a city girl can transform into a farm girl. 

We bailed 120 bales today … not an earth shattering number, but 120 is 120.  I have few pictures to share because hauling around a big ‘ol camera isn’t very convenient with most farm chores.  I need to come up with a way to have the camera but not have it be in the way because it was the most beautiful day out and the scenery was stunning … nothing like a baby blue sky with picture perfect white clouds amid a field of green hay.  It really was pretty and I said “man, I wish I had my camera!” more times than I can count. 

Bailing hay … like many of the chores around here … is not an easy job.  However, it is a job that makes you think “Hey, I worked hard today” when it is completed and the type of work that you know is good … a job that makes a difference at the end of the day … even on a Sunday.  

Leave a Reply

Categories

