Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 23, 2008

What did you ask your father-in-law today?

Today I had to ask my father-in-law who was graciously mowing our terribly long grass, the following question …

“Will you take a dead chicken out of the chicken coop for me?”

That was not on my “to-do” list but a farm girl has gotta do what a farm girl has to do.  Ha.  I make it sound like I did something pretty great.  A better story would be if I told you I handled the situation all by myself even though Veteran Haymaker was here!  Oh well.  I can only be so great you know? 

So what did he say?  Well of course he agreed to, but first chuckled at me and then smiled saying “yes I can do that”.   Thank goodness he was here and willing to cut this new farm girl a break by taking care of it.

I have no idea what happened to the poor girl but hopefully I don’t find any more of her friends following her lead and leaving us.   Loren told me a few months back that he found a hen just laying there “not alive” and so ever since then I have been on the look out for a chicken that has decided to fly the coop … however, this afternoon I wasn’t expecting it since I was just in there a few hours before with water and did the whole “is everyone not laying an egg walking around?” check. 

Sigh.  Just another day on the farm! 

Responses

  1. This made me chuckle. I know that something dead can’t hurt you, but I left the dead birds, hamsters etc to someone else to get rid of, too. Or I made sure I put them in their check box or shoebox casket using plenty of cloth over them so I didn’t have to actually touch them. Nice of the veteran haymaker to do that for you. :)

    I suppose chickens die of old age eventually too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

