Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 1, 2008

Oatmeal & Etc. Cookies

How about a recipe?  It has been a very long time since I have posted a recipe huh?  Well, today I baked and I realized that I baked cookies that I haven’t posted before.  At least I hope that I haven’t … I don’t recall this particular one. 

I made a batch of oatmeal cookies with nuts, chocolate, and raisins.  The recipe is for either oatmeal raisin or oatmeal chocolate chip but I like to bend the rules a bit now and then and I have put all sorts of stuff in them.  I often throw some butterscotch chips in as well but I was without them this time around. 

So if you are looking for some yummy cookies to make here is a pretty simple and delicious recipe.  Ours will be gone before you know it.  When I asked Loren if he liked them he said “yes!, I could eat a dozen!” and I said “well, there is more then a dozen so have at it” … and, he pretty much has.  I think that he is up to ten so far. 

Oatmeal & Etc. Cookies

1 & 3/4 cup flour  (I used whole wheat)

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

3 & 1/2 cups oatmeal

1 cup butter  (I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup lard)

1 & 1/2 cup packed brown sugar  (I used one cup … not packed)

1/4 cup white sugar  (I used maybe 1/4 cup)

2 large eggs

2 & 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

* Chocolate Chips 

* Raisins

* Walnuts

* Pecans

* Sorry, I didn’t measure any of these … just throw in what you like!  :)  The more the better I say!

Mix your sugars, eggs, vanilla.  Add your flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.  Add your oatmeal and nuts, chocolate, and raisins and whatever else suits your fancy.   Bake @ 350 degrees for about 12-14 minutes.  Let sit on baking sheet for about a minute before removing to cooling rack. 

Enjoy! 

Responses

  1. These sound so good! Like something my husband would make (he’s into baking with oats). Except he wouldn’t put anything in them except maybe some nuts. How boring!

  2. Hi Poofer! The other day (Friday) I decided to make cookies, and oatmeal ones sounded really good to me. I couldn’t manage to get on the computer to look up your recipe, so I ended up making one I found in a magazine. They turned out good, and I’ll probably post the recipe on my blog soon. But I just wanted to let you know that I’m not copying you! Oatmeal cookies sure are good, though, aren’t they? (And one of these days I will try your recipe!)

  3. […] another great-looking oatmeal cookie recipe, check out this one on my friend Poofergirl’s blog. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

