Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | October 1, 2008

Just another farm wife sacrifice … of sorts.

As you may know, a farm wife is somewhat famous for her sacrifices.  There are oodles of examples of old time farmers that ask much of their farm wife.  Though I will admit that my sacrifices are somewhat far and few between, they do exist.  Remember when I didn’t have any running water for 2 months in the dead of winter, and when I lost all use of my drains for another few weeks?  I have learned a lot though in the past 21 months as a new farm girl and new farm wife, and those sacrifices have helped that process. 

It has been getting colder by the day around here as the season of fall makes its entrance.  The beauty of the leaves and cooler days do have their moments of “how nice!”, but the crisp mornings are one thing that I have yet to adjust to.  Though we are still not starting a fire every morning, they are becoming more frequent … like this morning.  Loren is the keeper of the fire in the mornings and late evenings.  I cover the 3pm-1am shift while he is at work.  I rarely start the fire in the mornings and have only had to do it a time or two if he is home since becoming the farm wife that I am today.  The way that we work that out is that I stay in my nice cozy bed while Loren gets dressed and starts a nice fire in the wood stove.  It is only when the fire is roaring and heating that I venture out.  It’s a good system don’t you think? 

This morning however, Loren needed to head to the neighbors to get milk and borrow a tool to work on the broken down truck that has been a lovely lawn ornament most of the summer.  He didn’t have time to do the fire and get to the neighbors before they would be leaving.  I was a little worried about the fire but I knew that I was more then capable of starting one and so I figured that was the plan so when Loren said “ummm … I am not going to be able to do the fire before I leave … (short pause) … so can you just stay in bed until I get back to do that?”.  Seriously, that is what he said.  How great is he huh?  He could have easily said “can you start the fire?”, or “put on an extra sweatshirt and another pair of socks until I get back”.  But no, the greatest husband ever requested that I stay in the warm comfy bed for another half an hour. 

The sacrifices I make … someones gotta do it though, and if not me then who?

Responses

  1. That is so sweet!

    I wouldn’t pass up the opportunity to stay in bed either!

  2. Too sweet! Aren’t husbands amazing? I thank God every day for my sweetie!

  3. Sounds like you have a gem of a husband, no doubt about it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

