Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | October 16, 2008

Baby Update

Just thought that maybe you would like a little baby update … and seeing as this baby is still “little”, it will be short.  Oh it looks like I might just be witty tonight. 

Anyway, we are still pregnant!  I great sign I think.  Almost  20 weeks … on Sunday technically but it is pretty darn close to Sunday so good enough.  Staying pregnant is the goal of course, especially since last time I sorta failed at that.

I had an appointment today with my midwife and it was a good visit.  While I was standing there she said “well, let’s take a look at you … (short pause while she scans me up and down and then zero’s in on my mid section) … yep, you are looking pregnant!”.  That is good right?  While being weighed in I made the mistake of looking at the number, I have heard that some women never do, and I said “Oh!, that number went up!” and she said “That is good! You are supposed to gain weight, you are pregnant!”  I said “oh yea, that is right.”  See, sometimes I still forget about being pregnant.   Odd I know, but I do.  Eventually I will look down and there will be no mistake but for now I am still just look sorta “chunky” with no real baby definition, but it is coming and I am looking forward to it. 

Getting the heartbeat proved to be a bit of a challenge.  Turns out that we have a very active baby flying around in there.  The longest count they could get was 7 seconds, with mostly 5 seconds before it would kick or move.  So it is somewhat of a “best guess” under the circumstances but the heart rate was 144 today.  It was 135 about 6 weeks ago.  I love to hear the heart beat. 

Still waiting to feel a kick or two.  Chances are really good that I have already felt this little one but I just don’t know.  As the kicks get  stronger it should be easier to tell and then be unmistakable.  Another thing that I am looking forward to.

So that is my update … sort of random and such, but an update none the less.

Responses

  1. The baby is enjoying all the space available to swim around, I bet. :) Soon it will be more cramped in there and the activity will decrease.

    Or maybe you will just have a baby who never stops moving! At least you can put your children to work on the farm to burn off energy!

  2. I’ve been waiting for an update~I’m so glad things are going well. If you are just about 20 weeks, it is a little early to feel that baby, IMO. I’d say at 20 weeks is about average. Enjoy your mid-trimester, it’s the best!

  3. Believe it or not, I was just thinking “I wonder how Stephanie’s pregnancy is going?” as I clicked on the link to your blog. You are so good at answering the questions I haven’t asked yet. ha

  4. I am so happy to hear little baby is growing and moving :) It’s nice to have an update on the little one!

  5. Where are you, are you ok. Miss you and the farm news.

  6. Oh my! Poofergirl, I hadn’t realized how LONG it had been since I last dropped by for a visit at your blog. I didn’t even know about your big news! Congratulations! I am so happy for you and your husband. 20 weeks! That’s great. And now that I know, I will be praying for you and your little one. God bless all three of you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

