Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | December 5, 2008

Cookies Cookies and Cookies

It’s time once again for the cookie exchange … last year we missed it because of snow, but I did make them.  You might recall

mwcookies21

This year I decided on Mexican Wedding Cakes (aka Russian Tea Cakes).  Why these cookies have two names I don’t know, but since I was raised with calling them Mexican Wedding Cakes that is what I will go with. 

mwcookies3

The process wasn’t too tough.  I ended up with 18 cookies per bag instead of the recommended 12 because they are a little small.  24 seemed like too many, so I went with 18.  No big issues except that 3 out of the 5 batches were all crumbs and I had to work harder to get them to stay together.  I can’t figure out why that happened, but oh well! 

mwcookies4

They are done and for that I am grateful. 

mwcookies5

I had planned to sew some cute little Christmas bags to put them in but I ran out of time with such a busy week so these will have to do.

mwcookies6

Still cute … and much less work! 

Incase you don’t have this recipe … it is super easy. 

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

1/2 cup powdered sugar

dash of salt (whatever “dash” means!)

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons vanilla

Yum!  They are my favorite Christmas Cookie.

Responses

  1. Thanks to your inspiration, I made these just now. I put chopped pecans in mine. I’ve never made them before and wow are they good! Thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

Categories

