Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 18, 2009

Caramel Roll Recipe

Remember these?

weeding1.5

Well, my cousin Sarah wondered how I made them … and being the great cousin blogger that I am, I thought I would share the recipe with everyone instead of just e.mailing her.  I am nice huh?   If you don’t care to discover how these beautiful rolls “happen”, then feel free to quit reading. 

weeding7

The recipe for the dough is actually from my sister-in-laws grandmother who is an amazing baker.  I adapted the recipe just a tidge.  Here it is … mostly Grandma Dorothy, with a little Poofergirl.  

Basic Bread Dough …

warm 2 cups milk & 1 stick butter

add 1 T. yeast to 1/2 – 3/4 cup warm water & 1 T. sugar

Add 3 cups flour to warmed milk & butter

Add 2 eggs to flour & milk & butter

Add proofed yeast to mixture

Continue to add flour (usually 2-3 more cups) until dough comes together. 

*** this is where I must add …  the thing about a recipe from someone who has made it for years and years is that there isn’t a ton of detail … one of the deals with getting a great old recipe. ***

That is all the details I have about the dough.  I use my kitchen-aid stand mixer with the dough hook and so I add enough flour until it forms a ball on the hook.  I don’t know how you would know if there is enough flour kneading by hand. 

After the dough rises once (double in size), flatten out into a big rectangle.  

weeding4

Spread with butter, sprinkle with cinnamon, and add brown sugar.  Sorry, but I have no idea how much.  See, I don’t really measure on something like this.  Whatever you think looks like enough.

croll

Roll up.

Slice.

weeding5

Let raise a second time.

weeding6

Bake @ 350 degrees.  I have no idea how long … that’s nice huh?  Sorry.  How about until they look done. 

I made a simple glaze with a little butter, some powdered sugar & a little milk.

croll2

There you go!  Yummy caramel rolls. 

 

Responses

  1. This will be a great attempt…gotta love the passed-down-by-tradition recipes! I DON’T have the stand mixer which will make this recipe much more interesting to try! (Admittedly, I don’t even have a hand mixer right now!) ;) If it tastes better than it looks, I keep trying to defeat the errors. Your’s look so good!
    One more question, you must not spread your rectangular-shaped dough very thin, do you?Thanks for sharing!

    • yeah … not too thin. The recipe is for 2 loaves of bread or 24 dinner rolls. I get about 15 that I put in my 10×15 inch cookie sheet/pan and then a few extra went into a 8×8 glass pan. Hope they work out. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

