Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | July 10, 2009

Peas to Shuck …

Oh my have we been shucking peas.  I shucked about 10 gallons of pods the past two days and Mr. & Mrs. Veteran Haymaker just did about 9 gallons. 

Mostly the handsome farmer Neal (and now the in-laws) does the picking.   I know that you can’t see his face but you’ll just have to trust me on the handsome part.  

peas1

Then I (and now the in-laws) do the shucking. 

peas2

Huh?, well … this just in!  Veteran Haymaker was out picking some more peas.  Hmmm … more shucking is happening as I type.  Exciting stuff huh?  :) 

Before this next batch that just arrived, I have just over 5 gallons of shucked peas ready for preserving.   Needless to say I will be blanching and freezing this evening.  Good thing I love peas.

Leave a Reply

Categories

