Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 24, 2009

Tomato Progress ~ Updated

Progress in the tomato department is abounding around these parts. It is such a long process but well worth the effort.  See, just because I don’t like tomatoes doesn’t mean that I don’t appreciate the fact that I have pretty jars of ready to go food on my shelf. 

tp2

I am officially done with all the tomatoes that “needed” to be taken care of.  So far we have 13 quarts of spaghetti sauce and 15 jars of nice and thick tomato sauce.  Farmer Neal thinks it has been a lot of work for only 28 quarts but I think it is ok, and that is 28 meals so I am fine with that. 

I have a couple piles that are becoming more ripe and a pile that Farmer Neal is going to take the seeds out of.  After tonight I won’t be dealing with tomatoes until Saturday.  I will likely can a batch of sauce tomorrow but all the washing and sorting and cutting and cooking down and milling and then cooking down some more is done. 

tp1

That makes this farm girl very happy.

Update ~  I decided to do another batch of canning after I realized I had 7 quarts of spaghetti sauce ready.  My new total is 20 quarts of spaghetti sauce and 15 quarts of tomato sauce.  Pretty good right?

Responses

  1. Beautiful! I would probably keep them on my countertop so I could gloat for at least a month:)

  2. do you have a pressure canner or do you hot water bath?
    What recipe do you use for spaghetti sauce?

    I have been trying different tomato recipes this harvest time.

    take care!
    Tina


Leave a Reply

Categories

