Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | December 26, 2009

On the second day of Christmas …

On the second day of Christmad my true love gave to me … Bagels!  Oh that isn’t the right wording for that song?  My bad.  But today, on the second day of Christmas I made some bagels for Farmer Neal.  Everytime that I have purchased bagels in the past 3 years, which hasn’t been much … except during this pregnancy when I seem to eat them A LOT!, … Farmer Neal says “we should make bagels” and I say “ummm … that sounds difficult” and we just buy more.  But today, with some freshly ground wheat flour that I was going to make some bread with I thought “I should try bagels”.  I “thought” this rather then saying it outloud for two reasons, one … because I thought that I could surprise Farmer Neal with them and two … because if I got lazy, he wouldn’t know that I was going to make them!  Seconds (seriously, just seconds) after I thought my little thought he said “hey, maybe we should try to make bagels today”.  Darn!  So I told him that  I was just thinking that.  Sorta spooky. 

Here is how it works.  You really should try them, they are pretty fun and taste fantastic. 

I have been blessed with a KitchenAid stand mixer (sometimes there are perks to ex-boyfriends) and so I don’t have to knead dough, I have a machine that does the work for me.  All I did was throw the following ingredients in the mixer and magically in a few minutes the dough is complete.   It is very nice. 

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons warm water

1 package (2 1/4 teaspoons) active dry yeast

2 1/2 teaspoons sugar

~ stir in

1 tablespoon melted vegetable shortening (I used lard)

1 1/2 teaspoon sugar

1 1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup bread flour (I used whole wheat that was not bread flour)

~gradually stir in

3 – 3 1/2 cups bread flour

~knead for 10 minutes or let your mixer do it for you if you are able. 

~let dough rest, covered, 15-20 minutes.

~punch down dough and divide into 8 equal pieces.

~roll each piece into a rope about 10 inches long.

~wet the ends to help seal and form dough into rings.

~let rings rise, covered for about 15 more minutes until puffy.

~pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

~bring 2 gallons of water with 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of salt to boil.

~drop the rings 4 at a time into the boiling water.

~as the bagels surface, turn them over and cook another 45 seconds.

~take out and place on an ungreased cookie sheet coated with cornmeal.

~bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until golden brown. 

I used a stonewear pan and didn’t use the cornmeal.  They did not stick.  I also forgot to let them raise that second time before boiling them and they still turned out. 

You can pretty much add anything to them they say, like spices or onion, etc.  Whatever you like. 

I was really surprised that the 100% whole wheat turned out so well.

Seriously, try them.  They are yummy.

Responses

  1. Those look so good! I love whole wheat bagels, especially honey whole wheat, so IF I get the desire to try to make some I think I’ll put honey in them. I have all the ingredients, but yeast and I know they would taste like dough balls without that. Or playdough:)

    Good job, Steph!

  2. We eat lots of whole wheat bagels (Kroger brand). I have toyed with the idea of making them but have never tried. I do have a Kitchen Aid mixer so I should just do it! Are they really big? They look like it. I usually eat half a bagel for breakfast but I’m not sure how these compare with store bagels.


Leave a Reply

Categories

