Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | January 18, 2010

Bedrest Update

Cause apparently my vagueness is not going over so well.  :)  I wasn’t intentionally being vague for the record.  I am just supposed be laying and not sitting at the computer.

The bed-rest is precautionary at this point.  Basically my cervix is shortening.  We have been checking it via ultra-sound at each appointment since it is one of the few things that we can look at to see if there is progress before there should be.  It’s been great but this past week we lost a centimeter.  The goal is 3cm, we were down to just over 2cm.  Hence the bed-rest.  Also my blood pressure was high which came with some medication and that may have caused some of the shortening cervix issue. 

We also have been doing a test … which I fail to remember the name of … that tells us if a certain hormone that is only released prior to labor, is being released.  This test is good for 2 weeks and is 99% accurate.  If you show the hormone, there is a 75% chance you will deliver within 2 weeks.  Both of the tests I have taken have been negative … including this past week.  We thought we were in the clear until the cervical ultra-sound, but since that wasn’t ideal the bed-rest was prescribed. 

So there you have it.  No dilating, no contractions, just a couple little red flags to keep us on our toes.  We have the most amazing doctor who is more fantastic than I can explain.  Thanks for the thoughts and prayers and I will keep you posted!  Our next appointment in Wed. morning.  Hopefully we are not progressing and the bed-rest is keeping this little one in and growing.

Responses

  1. I’m glad that you have a doctor you like–that is so important. Take care of yourself.

    We’re praying for you all.

  2. So glad that there isn’t “trouble” and it is just a precaution. Take care of yourself. We are praying for you.

    Please let me know if I can do anything to help!

  3. Oh girl… I am sorry. This is the WORST time. I know you just want to meet baby already!!! Heres hoping for a quick quick quick delivery!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  4. hope the bed rest is making thing better. I know it is hard to be down but listen to the doctors it is there business to take of you. in a few months there will not be time to lay in bed. two babies can keep you very busy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

