Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 3, 2010

photo shoot failure

I attempted to get some pictures of both kids today … you know together.  I have yet to attempt this.  Considering how much Evelyn loves to poke and prod the poor baby Mathias I have steered clear of the temptation.   But today, I tried.  I use the term tried when I should just say that I failed.  I knew it would be difficult, especially with a very basic camera, poor lighting, and well … Evelyn. 

Here are just a couple of the shots that are considered “fair”.  I could share some of the not great ones but I have lots of other things I should be doing and remember that I have dial-up … one of the few but proud members of the dial-up club that are left.  I don’t know why I say proud because dealing with dial-up on a daily basis mostly irritates and stresses me out.   You get just a few shots.

Why was it so difficult to take a few simple pictures?  Let me list them for you …

  • Evelyn is 16.5 months.
  • Mathias is 2.5 months.
  • Even though Evelyn won’t keep her hands to herself any other time, today … she didn’t want to touch Mathias. 
  • Apparently Evelyn was hungry because her hand was in her mouth the majority of the time.
  • Evelyn is a mover and a shaker.
  • Mathis was too little to do much but look at his feet.
  • Evelyn has an obsession with grabbing the camera that she has never once been allowed to play with.
  • I was crabby.
  • I was tired.
  • I am only one person.

Someday though I will have a better camera, older subjects, actually get some sleep, and will have fabulous pictures of my beautiful children.  Until then I will cherish these.

Responses

  1. Maybe I’m biased, but I love ALL 4 of them! (And all two of them.) Mathias is still cute even if he’s looking at his feet, or anywhere but at the camera!

    Thanks, I enjoyed the post.

  2. Love the pictures! Thanks for sharing them. They’re perfect. :)

  3. Those photos of your children ARE fabulous. I know you were trying to go for properly posed photos but what you got were REAL photos of exactly what your children were like at that point in time. That’s something that can’t be staged and should be cherished. They are both such lovely children and I’ve been enjoying watching them grow up from a million miles away!

  4. I remember those days of “not” and looking back those are the best days! Enjoy the ride because it will be over sooner than you know. As a very wise farmer from Polyface Farms once told me: “It’s good enough so it’s perfect.”

    It’s good enough sister. :)

  5. I remember going through several rolls of film when Michael and Michelle were toddlers, trying to get what I thought would be a good picture for our Christmas cards. While looking back at the piles of “rejects” not that long ago as I sorted photos, I couldn’t figure out what on earth was wrong with them! I bet you’ll feel that way some day about these. They’re adorable!

  6. […] It went better than the last time. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

