Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 27, 2010

Home Sweet Home

There is nothing like home.  I think that part of the Wizard of Oz is a little silly but in all reality it is so true … so very true.  Unfortunately we don’t all have a pair of ruby slippers that will get us there at the time we would want however. 

I am home after a three night stay at the hospital with the Mastitis that I told you about in my last post.  It was far from fun, but it is done and I am back home with my adorable babies and my amazing husband.  And let me tell you, it is so good to be home. 

Thursday morning I left those three smiling faces and said “hopefully I don’t call you later and let you know that they are having me stay in hospital”.  Little did I know that was to be the case.  Turns out that the ultrasound the previous day showed a large abscess in the effected b*east.  So large in fact that it was over 10cm.  When you have a baby, you need to dilate to 10cm … just as a comparison.  Needless to say it was not a little problem. 

Then plan was to get me in the hospital where they could do antibiotic iv’s in the hopes that the abscess would begin to shrink.  After about 24 hours my doctor (the amazing one that I had throughout this entire never-ending pregnancy) decided that we should try to drain it.  This was decided mostly because it was just so big and it would take weeks to shrink on its own and anytime a person has that size of an abscess with infection, it is better to get rid of the infection as quickly as possible. 

I won’t bore you with the details of the extraction, of the numerous blood draws and iv’s.  Mostly because I am trying to forget them … I don’t do hospitals well.  I do my best to be strong and tough and overall I do ok, but it is not an easy thing for me to be there.

So really long story short, this morning at 10am I was discharged and I am home!   There will be a few more days of recovery but overall everything seems to be healing well.  Thanks to Loren’s Mom who came in and picked up the role of caregiver to the little ones.  We couldn’t have done it without her. 

Home is my favorite place … for lots and lots of reasons, but mostly these two. 

Home Sweet Home I tell ya, Home Sweet Home!

Responses

  1. Glad to hear you are home Stephanie and that you are healing up. Yes to incise and drain (although not fun) does speed the recovery. I am sure your family is glad to have you back home. I hope the rest of your recovery is quick and easy and the worst is over. Josie

  2. Our prayers of thanks that you are home, and continue for total healing. It was a gift for me to be able to take care of those precious children. I had never really gotten to know Mathias as he is always sleeping or eating when I come. I found out what a delightful child he is. He seems to understand what you are saying and coos and smiles and gets a twinkle in his eye. He does sleep a lot and 13 hours at night! Evelyn is an outdoors girl and she is a fun child too. Let me know when you need some rest and I can take them into Bertha and show them off, now that you have a double stroller.
    Love,
    Bev

  3. Oh my goodness! That was quite the infection!

    So glad you are on the mend and, hopefully, feeling some improvement!

    See you over the 4th??


Leave a Reply

Categories

