Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | August 3, 2010

In the farm kitchen.

Even though the beans have taken over the kitchen this past week I have attempted a couple “new” menu items that I thought I would share. 

I made some hamburger buns that were fantastic. 

Recipe can be found here.  For some reason I can’t get the actual recipe page to load so you will have to search.  That will be easy for you, unless you are blessed with dial-up like me.  But the search is worth your time if you are looking for some great hamburger buns.  I made half the recipe and it made 34 buns!! 

I also made some Zucchini Cupcakes for a family gathering this past weekend that I found here

You all know how much I love all the fantastic things that Amanda makes and these were really great.  I didn’t have much time to make them as fancy as hers, but they still tasted good!

I also made a Chocolate Zucchini Cake.  That recipe I found here.  Can you tell I have some zucchini?  Farmer Neal found a big one hiding and those are great for baking so I have been doing my part to use it us.  I still have a few cups … it was huge … so another recipe might have to be found. 

I would take a picture of the cake but that means I would have to open the cake holder it is in and I would have no choice but to have another piece.  I am trying hard not to eat it … it is delicious!  Evelyn and I shared a piece after dinner.  So … you will need to use your imagination, it is a beautiful chocolate cake baked in a bundt pan … my favorite. 

Curious about that bean total? 

I have officially canned 78 quarts of green beans and there are 15 quarts frozen in the freezer.  Plus, I have 4 quarts of fresh ones in the refrigerator.   I really really hope that is the end!  There are more in the garden but I am hoping they end up in someone elses kitchen and not mine.   Thankfully there are lots of people who love beans. 

So there you have it folks … just a little glimpse into our farm kitchen.

Responses

  1. Oh. My. Goodness!! That is a lot of beans! Do you need another method to dispense some of the remnants? Dilly beans are fantastic – ever try them?

    Your hamburger buns look awesome! I’ve always wanted to try them but never get around to the motivation. Procrastination must be hereditary! Ha-ha! I’ll have to take a peek at the recipe and pretend I made them while reviewing it in my mind!

    All the goodies look and sound delicious. Loren has a good wife putting those good foods to good use.

  2. SO, I made the zucchini cupcakes today. I had to try one warm from the oven for lunch, and then I had one cooled later…..and THEN I had one with buttercream icing for a late-afternoon-before-dinner ‘test’:) I didn’t have any cream cheese or I would have probably had 4 already!!

    Obviously, it’s a wonderful recipe.

    I think I’ll forgo the chocolate zucchini cake….this week anyway.

    • Good choice on not making the chocolate recipe this week. It is seriously the best chocolate cake I have had. Rediculously good. Let me know before you make it … I made a couple changes as some of the reviews suggested. Loren found two more big zucs in the garden … we are in trouble. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

