Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 15, 2010

This & That …

We have had a busy week.  The kids really do so great when we are out & about and doing this & that.  So well in fact that Miss Evelyn didn’t have a nap all day and was still quite enjoyable.   She did however tucker out at 7pm on the way home from church so it might be a little earlier morning around these parts but that will be ok. 

Tonight was our first night back at church feeding the youth.  It is one of my very favorite things to do.  I missed half of last year with the bedrest, c-section, and newborn deal we had going on and I really did miss it.  Going back tonight was like coming home.  Why I love teenagers so much I don’t know, I just know that I do.  And though it saddens me that so many people do not like them, I am glad to be one that does.  My favorite part of the night was watching the teens play with the kids.  Oh it was just so great and my heart melted… more than once.  I could see the back of Miss Evelyn with her adorable curls sitting in the middle of a table with about 6 kids talking to her and playing with her.  And to see Mathias being passed from kid to kid regardless of it being a girl kid or a boy kid … well, that was just as great.  Watching others love on your kids is something else … I don’t even have the words to explain it.  I honestly can’t wait until next Wednesday.

Yesterday we were gone all day long … leaving at 8am and returning just before midnight.  I had an appointment with a b*east surgeon about the abscess that will not leave.  I gotta say that the doctor is fantastic, I couldn’t like him anymore.  His hope is that we can avoid surgery, which I think is pretty fantastic coming from the person who would get a big fat check if we did.  He drained the abscess once again but is hoping that since the infection is gone, getting the remaining fluid out will help with the healing process.  We can only hope!  I will go back in a few weeks and see how it is doing.  So even though we are still dealing with the mastitis issues from June!, it’s bound to be better soon. 

After the doctors we headed to my former home to get some shopping done, see Grandma, and host a little Norwex party.  I love Norwex stuff.  If you have the opportunity to purchase their products you should.  I have been cleaning tonight in the hopes that I can try out my new mop system.  I feel like the floors are the “last” thing to clean.  I have a few more dishes and a few more things on the table and counter to clean off before I can tackle the floors.  I don’t even like to clean the floors … it is generally something that I put off for longer than I should, but I seriously can’t wait.  It is a little odd, but there is something about cleaning with only water, and ending up with a clean and safe space that makes me want to do it.  Hard to explain … just get their stuff and you will understand.  

In all my spare time I have managed to can 21 quarts of applesauce.  It is yummy stuff.

And pretty too.

This past week Mathias turned 6 months. 

The boy melts his Mama’s heart.  Enough said … especially since I say it all the time.

Evelyn also turned 20 months this past week.

So hard to believe that she is growing so fast.  I am already planning her 2nd birthday party.  Since we had to skip her 1st birthday with the bedrest of 2010 ordeal, she gets a double dose for year two!

You may notice Evelyn’s fat lip.  That happened on Daddy’s watch.  I went to Mass on Sunday morning since we were gone Saturday evening.  I walked through the door and greeted by the sweet smiling girl and thought “huh?, did she have ketchup?”.  I picked her up and looked more closely at her face, her sweatshirt and jeans and said “tell me this isn’t blood! … seriously, tell me this isn’t blood!”.  Daddy just smirked said “of course it is blood.  There was just a little run in with a bucket.”  Good thing Daddy’s can remain so calm.

If I wrote everything we have done this past week I would he here for hours.  So, just know that it’s been a busy fall and we wouldn’t ask for it to be any other way.  Life is full … of friends, family, and all that is good in this world.

Responses

  1. Sounds like your fall has been busy and good. I really love fall, if only it didn’t lead to winter.

    The applesauce is really pretty. Why is it so red? What kind of apples do you use?

    Glad you can get back to the Wednesday nights–I’m sure the teens are glad, too. It is fun to have something to look forward to every week.

    I hope the abscess clears up soon, that sounds absolutely miserable. I have had “regular” mastitis enough times to guess at how miserable it must be.

    I’m going to a Norwex party in a couple of weeks. Supposedly there is a rag that gets out carpet spots. I’m going to try it, I think. Is it expensive? I’m kind of dreading that part.

    Love watching your kids grow up in pics. Hope to see you irl soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

