Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | January 12, 2011

Birthday Party Prep … take 2

More birthday party prep is going on in the wee hours of the night around here. 

Party favors! 

Our semi-theme for the almost 2-year-old is “coloring”.  We will have a table or two covered in paper and crayons and markers galore for little hands to scribble … or color, whichever applies.  So I thought it would be fun to make some crayon rolls for the kids’ partying gift for attending our little party. 

I found a great tutorial here (click if you would like to see how they are made).  I have made them before actually, but without any clear directions.  The directions were simple and easy to follow and I have to admit, having someone else figure out the details was appreciated this time around. 

I didn’t think to take any pictures until I was almost done but rest assured that there was plenty of cutting, ironing, measuring, pining, sewing, and ironing some more.

I made a significant dent in my scrap basket.  Did I mention that is one of my little goals for 2011?  I hope to use all those scraps up in projects.  With the banners earlier in the week and these I am well on my way. 

I made 24.  Yeah I know, 24 seems like a lot and it is.  But there could be lots of little people and I want to have enough.  I made 12 for girls & 12 for boys. The bonus is that if we don’t need them all, I have nice little birthday gifts ready to go.  Such a smart girl I am.

I’ll add a little “thanks for coming to my party” tag to finish them off.  I think that they are adorable … homemade and nowhere near perfect, but cute. 

Next on the birthday party prep list is food … and cake!  I have some plans for making natural food coloring!  I will be sure to share how that turns out!

Responses

  1. Very cute and what a great idea!

  2. What a difference your aunt Jeri made in your life when she spent hours teaching you how to make a quilt. And sew a straight line! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

