Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | March 15, 2011

Homemade Cheese Crackers

Did you know you could make your own version of cheese its?  I found the recipe here (click to find recipe) and I tried them today.  I altered the recipe a tidge by using half whole wheat flour and half white and I used half cheddar and half mozzarella cheese.  Apparently I like to use half of things.  So much so that after I baked them I discovered that I only used half the cheese that I was supposed to, which would explain why they are a little salty and a little cyan peppery.  Peppery is likely not a word but I am going to go with it.

Anyway, overall they are pretty good.  I won’t lie and say they are “easy”, you have to roll out the dough of course which takes a little time, but if you would prefer a less processed cracker I would say that you should give it a whirl.

Responses

  1. Interesting. I might have to try these. Do you think the cyan is the reason for the bright orange color? Does it taste like black pepper at all? Guess I could just call you and ask. Ha :)

  2. OK, now that I actually checked out the recipe I realize a quarter teaspoon of cayenne pepper wouldn’t color much OR do that much peppery damage…might be worth a try since I serve cheese crackers in the daycare frequently (and to me.)

  3. Since I don’t like things spicy at all, I think I’d skip the pepper altogether! They look great, I love cheez-its.


Leave a Reply

Categories

