Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | June 5, 2011

Weekend.

We had a great weekend. It has been weeks since we have had two full days home together and it has been fantastic.  So happy to have summer officially here.  The past two days consisted of mowing the lawn, planting the garden, pulling little people in the wagon, some cooking, a little baking, grocery shopping, & some cleaning.  Pretty mundane activities I guess you could say, but really?, it was nice. 

I took a couple of hours on Saturday morning and went shopping ALONE!, oh man was that ever great.  I do it from time to time and by Saturday of this past week I had to go.  A couple of hours usually does the trick and I am back to my old “trying my best to be a great Mom” self.  It’s a nice little break to quickly head in and out of a store without buckling & unbuckling and all the rest.   I realized how quickly I can get groceries alone, it was really amazing.  The check-out lady normally bags the groceries but I figured since I was just standing there doing nothing I might as well bag ’em.  She apologized and I explained that I was without the kids so I felt like I should be doing something.  She seems to understand and just let me work. 

I did however not shop as well alone in the fabric store.  It might be possible that I had too much time and wasn’t focused, but it took me much longer alone than with those littles ones.  Of course Evelyn usually pushes a little kid cart that they have available because both kids don’t fit in their little regular carts.  She does a pretty good job and only runs into stuff about half the time.  But I am pretty sure that her having that much possibility of great destruction keeps me right on track in there when they are with me.  I did manage to find some fabric and that was the goal so it’s all good.  I have a senior quilt for my nephew to get together.  Having all the fabric is a huge step.  But let’s be honest here, baby quilts are way more fun.

Saturday and Sunday I spent some time on the riding lawn mower.  Let me just say that it is my new favorite place to be.  So relaxing and calming.  I think I now know why men offer to handle the lawn care.  That few hours on the mower was like a mini retreat.  Pretty sure that the lawn will be getting mowed much more often now that I have learned this little secret. 

shelling the bean seeds

Farmer Neal is out planting the rest of the garden as I type.  He is hoping to get the last couple rows in before dark.  With all the rain he has had to cultivate most of the soil again in order to plant.  That heavy rain packs the soil significantlyI guess.   

So it was a good weekend.  We’ve got a pretty busy week and next weekend I am taking the kids to visit a friend.  It’s a modified version of a girls weekeend … the kind with kids in tow.  I am really looking forward to it!  Time with my girlfriends is some of my most favorite times.  Whoo-hoo!  It’s gonna be great.

Responses

  1. I liked this post. I love to see the kids kids get the darker skin from time spent outdoors…though many here have the pock-marked look of too many mosquitoes to go along with it!

    It’s beautiful on the little farm.


Leave a Reply

Categories

