Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | September 5, 2011

From the Stitching Room.

This afternoon I spent a little time in my craft room.  Yesterday Farmer Neal was putting milk in the freezer which is in that room.  I was helping and when we went in I said “you do realize this is my sanctuary right? my craft room sanctuary?”.  And then I sighed cause really, I love it in there.  So today during naps I did a little cutting and sewing for a project.  I am making some of these.  While I was at it I thought I would take a crack at something I have always wanted to make.

Can you guess what those are for? 

See, we use cast iron … for everything that a normal person would use a standard metal or teflon frying pan for.   They are the only frying pans in this old farm kitchen.

Every morning I make Mathias a fried egg for breakfast and then scrambled eggs for Farmer Neal.  Every morning.  And every morning as I grab a big pot holder I think “I should really get one of those little mini pot holder things (I am sure they have a real name) for these cast iron pans”.  Only problem is that the only ones I have found are terribly ugly.  That’s right … ugly.  When you have a cute turquoise/teal-ish kitchen and fun happy valances you can’t go with something ugly.  Well, ok you can … but why?  Especially when you have a craft room you love with a sewing machine, lots of fabric and some Insul-Bright.

So I did a little measuring … and three tries later I had ’em done. 

Once the kids were up and I couldn’t pull myself away from my favorite place, he waited patiently for dinner … that was a huge bonus. 

I wanted to use the valance fabric but only had a small strip left.  I improvised and added another strip of color which made them long enough. 

You gotta admit … those are pretty stinkin’ cute right? 

I can’t wait for breakfast!

Responses

  1. Your crazy awesome lady!

  2. Those are fabulous! I think I need one (because, sadly, I only have one cast iron skillet).

  3. What a great idea! I think the gingham check makes them even more appealing. I would have had to clean my stove AND my pans before I could take of a photo of them:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

