Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | November 6, 2011

Kathy’s Quilt

A few weeks ago I took on a big sewing project.  It wasn’t planned or prepared for, it just sort of  happened.  You may or may not remember when I posted Quilt Elsa. 

Unfortunately baby Elsa never breathed a breath on this earth.  Just days before her due date she died in her mother’s womb.  The loss of a baby is always a terribly sad time for those that loved them even before they set eyes on them.  So when Mama Kathy asked me to take the clothes that were waiting for baby Elsa and create a memory quilt I didn’t hesitate. 

Though I don’t believe that I was probably the best one to choose to pull off such a meaningful and large task I took it on, with lots of prayer to back me up.  And in the end …

It turned out pretty great.  Not even close to perfect, but under the circumstances … you know like the fact that I had never sewed a stitch with knit and about 75% of the clothing was knit, it was a mostly smooth process. 

Here are just a few shots of some of the squares.  Don’t look for perfection.  Most of the squares have more than a couple of pieces of outfits in them.  Amazingly, most everything found a friend to live with in the quilt by sharing similar colors.  I was able to salvage most of the pockets on the cotton dresses which are adorable in person.  I ended up with several favorite squares.

And some perspective on the final size with Evelyn as our comparison.  It ended up being the perfect size, not too big and not too small.

The quilt will be cherished, of that I am certain.

I am blessed to have been asked to create it.

Responses

  1. It was a beautiful and loving thing you did, and I know she will love it.

    It was a work of art:)

  2. That is such a precious quilt and so very special that you were asked and able to do such a great job. may God bless your family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. What a lovely thing for you to do. And I love the way you were able to make blocks using some of the ruffles and pockets and trims from the outfits. I’m sure it will be forever cherished.

  4. What a great way to remember a precious little one. A great keepsake for her parents to have, she will never be forgotten. She will always be able to wrap her love around her parents with that beautiful quilt.


Leave a Reply

Categories

