Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | January 21, 2012

A little sewing … a little boy.

This is likely not really that blog worthy but well, it’s what I’ve got and if you have clicked over here during the past silent week you might be happy to see something new … even if it’s about our changing pad.   If you make it to the end I will throw in some adorable little boy pictures, but don’t say you weren’t warned about the whole diaper station talk.

Here it is … the place where we stand to change a butt … or two.  Currently the space is also being used for Evelyn’s birthday cards which she thinks is the greatest addition.

So yes, this is where all the fancy diaper changing happens … exciting I know.  But regardless of the lack of excitement I am here to tell you that I did a little change up.   See, the current pad was less than perfect.  I picked it up at a garage sale for a mere buck and even though it was apparently “sammi’s” at one point, and not really a changing pad but a sleeping mat, it did the job.  

Until that is, it started to show some wear.  I am certain that the 30 plus pound three-year old has had something to do with its decline.  Regardless of the cause, it was time to fix it and getting rid of the bold blue/red color was going to be an added bonus.

Having the great idea to recover it for awhile now I had picked up a $4 vinyl tablecloth with the hopes that it would work … and, it did.

Here would be a good place to show you how I put it together, but it was only when I was sewing one of the last parts that I thought to grab the camera sitting inches away.  Sorry.  Basically I measured two pieces of the table-cloth to length, put the foam between them both and sewed. 

And in the end … much much better.  

It isn’t perfect of course … that would be silly … but it works and should hold together until those two little people decide that the potty chair really is the best way to go.

I am not holding my breath that it will be anytime soon but at least he likes the big boy underwear part.

Responses

  1. I think the changing pad is great. So much better! Like every thing you do to enhance your space on a budget.

    The cute little boy photos were fun, especially the one where he’s peeking out at you. The underwear on the outside only adds to the humor. I wonder if he and Evelyn will both get trained at the same time like our 2 closest-born to each other did.

  2. I don’t think I would have thought of that. Genius thought and little budgetary inconvenience! Turned out great, and that little guy is ADORABLE!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

