Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | January 23, 2012

Chicken Update.

Remember when we received our new baby chicks in the mail this past summer?   They were little and cute … just like they were supposed to be. 

Well, now they are all grown up … just like they are supposed to be.  

I took these pictures a few weeks ago but forgot to post them until now.  At least I am pretty sure that I never posted them.  I have been terrible at getting photos ready to post and letting them sit, only to forget if I shared them.  So I guess if you have seen these … well, my bad. 

This guy …

He was our “one free exotic chicken with the purchase of 25 regular old chickens”.  He scares me more than the others, being even more aggressive than the typical rooster … but since he is a “he”, he won’t be able to scare me much longer.  Chickens in the freezers don’t scare me … just sayin’.

So there they are … our chickens which should start laying delicious eggs for us any day now!  We still have plenty in the freezer but fresh eggs will be a nice change.

And on a completely random note … this was the sunset the night I took the pictures of the “baby chicks” … what the littles still call them. 

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by.

Responses

  1. They are beautiful….I have like 100 egg crates FYI.

  2. You have plenty in the freezer…….eggs? How do you freeze eggs if that’s what you mean?

    • Yep we freeze eggs. What worked best for us it to scramble them first, like 8 or 12 depending on the container they are going into … then just toss in the freezer. When I take them out, they thaw and I toss them in the blender. One egg is approx. 1/4 cup. Everything I have used them in has turned out great and the kids and Loren prefer scrambled eggs in the morning so it’s worked out well.

  3. The hens are beautiful! And the soon-to-be-frozen rooster is kind of freaky to me, too. And I’m not usually intimidated by a chicken:) He’s just kind of exotic in a scary way….probably just protecting his ‘girls’!

    Love the sunset photo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

