Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | March 1, 2012

Quilt Matthew & A Pillow

I like to title my posts about my quilts with the recipient’s name so that I can reference it later … you know like if I am looking for an idea on a similar one or something like that. It’s been a pretty good plan.  However, this time it really wouldn’t be necessary because I don’t intend on making another quilt like this one ever again.  Never ever.  It was a terrible process.  Time consuming, messy, … did I mention time consuming and messy?  Ugh!  It was terrible.  The ever popular “rag quilt” is not my friend.

But even I have to admit that it looks pretty neat.

And the fact that my brother Matthew loved his birthday present helped. But seriously folks, never again.  My only exception to that would be if I completely forget the horror that was the process or if I have lots and lots of time to work on it.  Time will tell but at the moment the memories are still too fresh.  It would be like asking a woman who just gave birth if she would do it again tomorrow … likely the answer would be no.  But time does wonders for something like the pain of child-birth and so just maybe it will for do the trick on rag quilts.   Probably not but we’ll have to wait and see.

Thankfully there was also a much simpler homemade gift that I put together.  This one will likely be repeated. 

A little pillow for my parents on their birthdays.  Fun right?  And oh how simple.  I love simple.

Thanks for stopping by today!

Responses

  1. Beautiful completed projects! I love them both. I haven’t ever tried making a rag quilt.

  2. Both gifts were super! Your dad and I appreciate our pillow with the little handprints:)

    Maybe you could try a rag quilt with 1 foot squares next time. You could whip it up in a third the time. It really is beautiful and so colorful. It’s always seems easy when someone else is doing all the work, though:)

  3. They were both beautiful and very thoughtful gifts, you have a very lucky family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

