Posted by: poofergirlsperspective | December 11, 2007

Snow Removal … Farm Style

Have you ever wondered how we get rid of the snow around here?  Well, today is your lucky day if you have.  As I was walking to the mailbox today … where by the way there were NO Christmas cards again! … I realized that I never posted any pictures of our snow removal day!  The driveway has been cleared thanks to Loren.  He “bucked snow” last week.   Yeah, I know … “bucked snow” sounds really goofy but that is what he calls it.  Not “moving snow”, or “plowing snow”, “pushing snow” or even “getting rid of the snow” but bucking snow is what we call it around these parts.  Because it was cold and obviously snowy I only have a few shots of the process.  I could have ran down the driveway and gotten a few more but who are we kidding here, that would have taken tons of extra effort and I would have had to put on a coat!  Maybe someday when I am really looking for something to do I will make the extra effort. 

Here is “bucking snow” in action … from the perspective of the front steps. Ha.

snowremoval5.jpg

snowremoval1.jpg

snowremoval4.jpg

snowremoval2.jpg

snowremoval3.jpg

It is really fun to watch the process … through the window from the warm house of course!  :)


Responses

  1. It is more fun to watch that process knowing the forecast is 80 degrees here tomorrow.

    I think I know what to get Loren for Christmas, a heated cab for his tractor!

    That is one tough husband you have there!

    :)

  2. Wow, do those pictures bring back memories! My grandpa gave my dad his old tractor; and, as we lived out in the country, my dad used to plow not just our driveway but our whole end of the street. He’d pile all the snow across the road from our house, and the neighbor kids and I would play on that big old pile all winter long, sledding into the street, having snowball fights, building forts, etc.

    I second Brother David up there: “bucking snow” is manly work, to be sure. :)

  3. Nice! That sure beats our little hand-held shovel! I wish he could come and do MY driveway! :)

  4. Bucking snow is a cool saying, Brian has his 4-wheeler with the plow, good enough for our city living, actually it is kind of funny that he feels the need to get that running, as our lot is so small, but the neighbors love the snow removal as well, so I guess it is worth his time!

  5. I think the photos look like Christmas, with the red and green tractor and snowplow….or snowbucker, rather. I’m sure a heated cab would be a nice addition, too. Knowing Loren, I’m sure he would say it’s good enough, though.

  6. David … 80 degrees seems way hot to me. :) I do have a pretty tough husband, I would agree … he is used to hard work so he actually enjoys it! Silly guy.

    Echowood … we have 4 big piles around here too and I told Loren that we need to get some kids cause it would be really fun to be at the farm … you could have your own huge hill!

    LaDonna … I will send him right over … well, though it will take some time driving a tractor that only putts along slowly! Maybe he would be there by next winter!

    Teresa … I think that men like to move snow which is ok with me since I am whimp! :)

    Mom … funny that you say that Loren would think that his tractor was good enough because when I read him the comments he said “do you know how long people used tractors without cabs? … it is just fine”. You know your son-in-law pretty well already. :) Plus he likes to do things the hard way!


Leave a comment

Categories